As I stated in my first blog, I am interning with CENTROL Crop Consulting this summer and I am extremely excited about it.  There will be many new tasks that I will learn how to perform and new equipment that I will learn how to use.  I will primarily be going out and using a GPS to locate certain spots and then gathering soil samples from the fields of area farmers and testing this soil to find out it's composition as well as what nutrients it contains and ones that it requires.  Upon gathering the soil and testing it for these facors, I will then get to perform research on what products I would recommend the farmer use on his field, such as fertilizer, pesticides/herbicides, which hybrid of seed and from which company, and any other things that I may have noticed while analyzing or researching.  Next, I will continue to monitor the farmer's fields as the crop grows and monitor it for any diseases, pests, or signs of nutrient deficiencies that can be corrected to produce a better yielding crop at harvest.  
    I feel that I am going to enjoy everything this internship has to offer.  I will learn how to use state of the art equipment utilized in the agriculture industry today, work closely with and develop relationships with area farmers, work outdoors much of the time, monitor the crops through their whole growth cycles, monitor crops for a variety of different diseases and pests, and essentially get paid to give the farmer honest and reliable advice without trying to push any one type of product on them.  I will simply be giving them the best advice on how to get a good yielding crop on whatever field and soil type they may be trying to grow it on.  As I grew up on a farm and am related to a seed salesman, I know that as with any form of sales, the salesman is always trying to convince you that their product is the best.  CENTROL is aimed at removing this from the equation by being an unbiased source of agricultural knowledge that farmers can depend on for reliable information without having one type of seed or chemical pushed on them without knowing if it is their best choice.  I like what the company stands for and I feel that It is the type of place that I will enjoy working at. 
Jamie Lundberg
1/28/2013 07:39:25 am

Good luck in your internship this summer! Its good that you are going into a field that you like, then you will never be "working" you will be doing something you love to do! I hope you like it!

Reply
1/29/2013 01:27:51 pm

Oh wow sounds like you will be busy! My dad is a farmer, so I know all of the fun activities that take place. Enjoy your internship!

Reply
Robert
2/27/2013 12:37:26 am

Hey Barry, that sounds very intereesting and good for you! It sounds like this is more of a consultant type of role. I took note where you mentioned a sales person is always trying convince a customer their product is the best. I cannot speak for the seed market, but usually there are companies who sell on price and others may sell on the highest quality (or higher price), among other things. A good sales person will sell based on their unique value proposition. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    January 2013

    Categories

    All